Statements to the 2004 NPT Preparatory Committee

General debate
Cluster one
Cluster two
Cluster three
NGO statements 

General Debate

April 26

  • Opening Statement, Ambassador Sudjadnan Parnohadiningrat, Chairman of the Third Session
  • New Zealand, Hon Marian Hobbs, Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control
  • Mexico, Ambassador Luis Alfonso de Alba on behalf of the New Agenda Coalition 
  • Ireland, H.E. Mr Richard Ryan, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Ireland, on behalf of the European Union
  • China, H.E. Ambassador Hu Xiaodi
  • United Kingdom, Ambassador David Broucher
  • Algeria, Ambassador Abdallah Baali
  • Mexico, Ambassador Juan Manuel Gomez Robledo
  • Malaysia, H.E. Ambassador Rastam Mohd Isa, on behalf of the Non-Aligned Movement 
  • Australia, H.E. Ambassador John Dauth LVO
  • Bangladesh (not yet available)
  • Indonesia, H.E. Ambassador Rezlan Ishar Jenie
  • South Africa, Mr. Peter Goosen
  • Peru, Ministro Marco Balarezo (in Spanish)
  • Republic of Korea, H.E. Ambassador Kim Sam-hoon
  • Switzerland, H.E. Ambassador Christian Faessler
  • Egypt (in Arabic)
  • Japan, H.E. Ambassador Yoshiki Mine
  • Syria, H.E. Dr. Fayssal Mekdad
  • Venezuela, Ministro Consejero Marly Cedeno Reyes (in Spanish)
  • Canada, H.E. Ambassador Paul Meyer (English and French)
  • Kazakhstan, H.E. Yerzhan Kh. Kazykhanov
  • Belarus (not yet available)
  • Bahamas, on behalf of CARICOM, H.E. Paulette Bethel
  • IAEA, Vilmos Cserveny, Director, Office of External Relations and Policy Coordination

April 27

  • Brazil, Ambassador Sérgio Duarte
  • France, H.E. Mr. François Rivasseau
  • Holy See, H.E. Archbishop Celestino Migliore
  • United States, Under-Secretary of State John R. Bolton
  • Norway, H.E. Mr. Johan LØvald
  • Iran, H.E. Gholam Ali Khoshroo
  • Russia, H.E. Anatoly Antonov
  • United Arab Emirates, H.E. Abdulaziz Nasser Al Shamsi
  • Vietnam, Mr. Nguyen Duy Chien
  • Myanmar, H.E. U Kyaw Tint Swe
  • Cuba, Ambassador Orlando Requeijo Gual
  • Ukraine, Mr. Anatoliy Scherba 
  • Morocco, Ambassador Mohamed Bennouna (in French)
  • Egypt, Mr. Mohamed Ezzeldine Abdel-Moneim, on behalf of the Arab Group (in Arabic)

April 28

  • Nepal, H.E. Murari Raj Sharma
  • Chile, H.E. Mr. Alfredo A. Labbé (in Spanish)
  • Argentina, Mr. Alberto d'Alotto (not yet avalable)
  • Jordan, Mr. Bisher H. Al-Khasawneh (in Arabic)
  • Tunisia, Mr. Anouar Ben Youssef
  • Serbia and Montenegro, Ms. Tamara Rastovac (not available)
  • Mongolia, Mr. Baatar Choisuren
  • Saudi Arabia, Mr. Naif Al-Sudairy (in Arabic)
  • Kyrgyzstan, Dr. Kainar Toktomusheu (not available)
  • Sudan, Mr. Omer B. Manis (in Arabic)
  • Nigeria, Mr. Ndekhedehe E. Ndekhedehe
  • Ecuador, H.E. Mr. Luis Gallegos Chiriboga (in Spanish)

Cluster II issues: Safeguards

April 29

Cluster III issues: Peaceful uses of Nuclear Energy

April 29 - April 30

Cluster I issues: Nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament and international peace and security

April 30 - May 3

Special Time on Regional Issues

May 3 - May 4

Special Time on Safety

NGO presentations

1. Introductory Remarks 
Delivered by Mayor I. Itoh, City of Nagasaki, Mayors for Peace (MfP)
Convened by Aaron Tovish, MfP

2. Overview of NGO Presentations
Delivered by Susi Snyder, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF )
Convened by Rhianna Tyson, Reaching Critical Will (RCW/WILPF)

Statement by Mordechai Vanunu

3. Vertical Proliferation
Delivered by Jacqueline Cabasso, Western States Legal Foundation (WSLF) 
Convened by Martin Butcher, Physicians for Social Responsibility (PSR)

4. A Living Document: Reaffirming the 13 Steps 
Delivered by Sarah Estabrooks, Project Ploughshares
Convened by Sarah Estabrooks, Rhianna Tyson, and Justine Wang, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation (NAPF)

5. A Fresh Look at Vertical Proliferation - Ballistic Missiles, Missile Defenses, and Space Weaponization
Delivered by Charlotte Wohlfahrt, International Law Campaign
Convened by Regina Hagen, International Network of Engineers and Scientists Against Proliferation (INESAP)

6. Beyond the NPT: Recent Initiatives to Prevent Proliferation
Delivered by Rhianna Tyson, RCW
Convened by John Burroughs, Lawyers Committee on Nuclear Policy (LCNP) and Rhianna Tyson

7. The Human Tragedy of Proliferation and Nuclear Rearmament
Delivered by Ron McCoy, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW)
Convened by John Loretz, IPPNW

8. Diplomacy of Cities and Promoting Peace 
Mayor Olexandr Omelchenko, Kyiv, Mayors for Peace
Convened by Aaron Tovish and Steve Leeper, (MfP)

9. Proliferation: Finding the Common Thread 
Delivered and convened by Alice Slater, Global Resource Action Center on the Environment (GRACE)

10. Indigenous Peoples and the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty
Delivered by Motarilavoa Hilda Lini, The Nuclear Free and Independent Pacific Movement

11. Nuclear Weapons Non-Proliferation in the Middle East and South Asia: Issues and Policy Recommendations 
Delivered and Convened by Elahe Mohtasham, Nuclear Weapons Non-Proliferation and International Safeguards System (NWN&ISS)

12. Introduction to Mayors for Peace
Delivered by Hon. Bill Perkins, New York City Councilman

- Citizens Weapons Inspections
Delivered by Senator Patrik Vankrunkelsven, Belgium, Mayors for Peace

- Nuclear Testing in the Pacific
Delivered by Abelina Shaw, Chief of Staff, City of Honolulu, Hawaii

- Olympic Truce
Delivered by Mayor Andreas Pahatourides, City of Peristeri, Greece 

All Mayors' presentations convened by Steve Leeper, MfP

13. Recommendations 
Delivered and convened by John Loretz, IPPNW

14. Concluding Remarks 
Delivered by Mayor Tadatoshi Akiba, City of Hiroshima 
Convened by Steve Leeper, MfP